Skip to content

Events

Masterclass with Goetz Richter

These sessions offer students an opportunity to expand their knowledge and skills in a positive and supportive environment. Masterclasses will be offered throughout the year covering various topics.

Date Masterclass
Wednesday 15 May Quey Percussion Duo
Percussion performance / Masterclass
Thursday 16 May Ritmico Class
Workshop / Masterclass
Saturday 18 May Australian String Quartet
Open Rehearsal / Masterclass
Thursday 8 August Elder Conservatorium Symphony Orchestra (ECSO)
Side-by-side Rehearsal / Masterclass
Saturday 17 August Ms Lucinda Collins
Workshop / Masterclass
Sunday 15 September Arcadia Duo
Performance
Thursday 3 October Jaberwolffy
Performance / Workshop / Masterclass

In these sessions all Open Music Academy students come together to create new music in an informal and fun environment, guided by highly experienced animateur, workshop leader and performer, Julian Ferraretto. Through these sessions students will develop their natural creativity and establish ensemble skills. Students should bring their instruments and percussion instruments will also be provided. The sessions are designed to accommodate all levels of experience.

Date
Sunday 16 June
Sunday 23 June
Thursday 3 October

Junior String Ensemble

In this group the junior string students in the Open Music Academy are invited to come together in regular ensemble sessions, in which they will learn the fundamentals of string ensemble playing. There will be a focus on key string skills such as intonation, bow strokes and tone production as well as general musicianship skills such as aural awareness, rhythmic precision and communication in a group. This ensemble session will help all students to develop their skills to the next level in a fun, supportive environment.

Choir

In these sessions, all Open Music Academy students are invited to join together in a choir, led by highly experienced vocal teacher Bethany Hill. Singing is a crucial foundation skill for all musicians- it develops aural awareness, listening skills, security of intonation and a sense of phrasing. Through these sessions all students will develop a new level of confidence and positivity in their singing skills, as well as improving their general musicianship and ensemble skills.

Junior Wind / Brass Ensemble

In this group the junior wind / brass students in the Open Music Academy are invited to come together in regular ensemble sessions, in which they will learn the fundamentals of wind / brass playing. There will be a focus on key skills such as intonation and tone production as well as general musicianship skills such as aural awareness, rhythmic precision and communication in a group. This ensemble session will help all students to develop their skills to the next level in a fun, supportive environment.

Advanced Theory Group

These sessions are designed to develop the theoretical and aural skills of students through a range of practical activities. Theory and aural skills are essential foundation elements for all musicians and provide a host of benefits across a wide range of musical activities. Memorisation becomes more secure, creativity is enriched, sight reading improves as pattern recognition and ‘inner hearing’ or ‘audiation’ skills improve, and musical interpretations become more sophisticated with a deepening understanding of phrases, harmony and structural form.

Term 1
Saturday 16 February
Saturday 2 March
Saturday 16 March
Saturday 30 March
Term 2
Saturday 18 May
Saturday 1 June
Saturday 15 June
Saturday 29 June
Term 3
Saturday 3 August
Saturday 17 August
Saturday 7 September
Saturday 21 September
Term 4
Saturday 26 October
Saturday 16 November
Saturday 30 November
Saturday 14 December

In these sessions all Open Music Academy students are invited to perform in front of their family, friends, teachers and peers on a world-class stage. Performance experience is an invaluable component of musical education and confidence building, and during these concerts, students get the opportunity to showcase their hard work they have put in during the term.

Date
Sunday 16 June
Sunday 23 June
Thursday 3 October
Elder Conservatorium of Music

Faculty of Arts

THE UNIVERSITY OF ADELAIDE

SA 5005 AUSTRALIA

Contact

music@adelaide.edu.au
T: +61 8 8313 5995
F: +61 8 8313 4423

Follow us:

Elder Conservatorium of Music on Facebook  Elder Conservatorium of Music Blog